top of page

The Friends of the Farm at Hilltop

We Saw Hilltop’s Potential

The Friends of the Farm at Hilltop formed in 2002 to save George Hendee’s 20,000-square-foot dairy barn from sale and possible demolition. We quickly realized the potential for the entire farm to become a valuable resource to help connect people to the land.


We want people to learn something new when they visit, smile and come back again soon.

A Farm Re-born

The farm was idle for 10 years before The Friends formed. This dedicated all-volunteer organization has rehabilitated barns, installed fencing and completed countless other repair and maintenance projects.

A $500,000 state grant allowed us to repair or replace everything on the large white barn from the roofline up. We have constructed an enclosed two-story fire escape, re-roofed and repaired several outbuildings, installed fencing, removed and pruned vegetation and cleaned up the grounds.

Much rehabilitation work continues in order to make Hilltop a first-class learning facility.

Who Owns Hilltop?

Over the years, the 250 acre farm was subdivided and sold and now has many owners. In September 2013, The Friends purchased the 7.9 acres where the large white barn sits. In 2022, we purchased the Stroh house next door with its additional 3.1 acres We also lease 60 acres of adjacent open space owned by the Town of Suffield.

The Simple Facts

The Friends is an all-volunteer nonprofit organization governed by a board of directors and supported by an army of volunteers. Since 2004, we have managed more than $950,000 in grants and donations.

Our passion for our vision is the fuel that keeps us going. We are on a fascinating journey of discovery and creativity. Come join us on the farm!


Board of Directors 2024 - 2025

Our by-laws allow for a maximum of 25 directors. Currently 14 directors are serving.  They are:

  • Anne Banks

  • Tom Heffernan

  • Christine Davidson - Treasurer 

  • Roger Ives

  • Todd Mervosh

  • Tony Peterson

  • Howard Orr - Board President

  • Eileen Moncrief - - Secretary

  • Ray Pioggia

  • Bobbie Rogers

  • Mike Welch

  • Scott Wheeler 

  • Joe Gervascio

  • Raymond Wilcox - Vice President 

bottom of page